hashcat Forum

Full Version: First use help
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone

first of all thanks to:
- whomever developed this tool
- the admin, for solving my registration issue Big Grin

I am not an expert in command-line usage of programs, so I would like to know if I am using hashcat correctly.

what I know about my hashes:
- md5
- I know the first 2 characters of the original string (e.g.: ab)
- I know the charset of the 3rd (uppercases and 0)
- I know the charset of the following characters (lowercases and 1)
- I don't know the lengths, but I expect them to be at least 4 characters and no more than 10

what I would like as an output:
an ASCII file with the hashes next to the original string

This is the command line I was able to set up, may I ask if you spot any major mistakes, given the information above?

Code:
oclHashcat64.exe --status -i --increment-min=4 --increment-max=10 -o $fullpath$\hashes_found.txt  $fullpath$\hashes_tofind.txt -1 $u0 -2 $l1 ab?1?2?2?2?2?2?2?2
pause

Have I forgot something to improve performance/avoid infinite loops?

Thank you
Hi Fred,

I think the order is wrong (the usage is: oclHashcat [options]... hash|hashfile|hccapfile [dictionary|mask|directory]...)

I would have personally proceed this way:

oclHashcat64.exe --status -i --increment-min=4 --increment-max=10 -o $fullpath$\hashes_found.txt -1 ?u0 -2 ?l1 $fullpath$\hashes_tofind.txt ab?1?2?2?2?2?2?2?2

In addition, when you set the -1 and -2 options: uppers = ?u and not $u (it is the same for lowers).

EDIT: check the mask attack wiki topic https://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=mask_attack
Hi hypn0s,

thank you very much.
Indeed, I messed up with the symbols for the charset options.

As for the order, I probably got confused by the [mask] at the end of the usage instructions, thanks for pointing it out.

Unfortunately, running that command gives me this error message: