hashcat Forum

Full Version: Problem trying the example .pccap file + my wifi
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am a beginner in oclHashcat. I found problems during cracking my wifi. In order to understand what's happening, I tried with the example .pccap file http://hashcat.net/misc/example_hashes/hashcat.hccap in http://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=example_hashes

The pw should be hashcat!, but the status of the cmd was EXHAUSTED even "hashcat!" was included in the password list.
[Image: attachment.php?aid=322]

The .bat
[Image: attachment.php?aid=320]
The pw list
[Image: attachment.php?aid=321]

=================================================

Similar problem occurred during the cracking of my wifi. The pw of it is 123456123. When I used aircrack-ng to crack the file in ".cap" with the same dictionary file, the key could be found successfully. After I converted the .cap file to .pccap through an online converter, and used the .pccap file in oclhashcat with the command
[Image: attachment.php?aid=323]
the result was EXHAUSTED too
[Image: attachment.php?aid=324]

How to fix it? Any help is appreciated !
Using cudaHashcat 1.36 - also unable to crack the provided example hccap from here.

I don't see any Trac tickets concering the issue, but there were similar issues with some NVIDIA kernels in version 1.35.
It would be great if you can also mention GPU models and number of devices (please also test with -d 1 for multi-GPU systems) and the exact driver version.

Please also test with a mask like -a 3 'hashcat!' (for linux only - quotes are needed for *nix based systems for the question mark) or -a 3 hashcat! (windows does not need quotes) instead of a wordlist (which could contain whitespace - space, tabs,... - or special encodings, unicode or others).