hashcat Forum

Full Version: Dictiionary Attack - how-to-question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
I am new to hashcat - currently I am trying to get my (forgotten) itunes password from a itunes backup iOS 9 or older ("-m 14700") and I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to start a dictionary attack - I created a text file "password.txt" - containing passwords I recently used, the passwords are separated by comma ","

so what I did:

./hashcat -d 2 -m 14700 hash.txt -a 0 password.txt

I wonder whether the password.txt file is properly created and whether the syntax "-a password.txt" is correct - thnx in advance
You don't need -a 0 (optional)
Why -d 2 ? if you have several GPUs it's better to run hashcat on all GPUs (what you don't do here)
there are 2 built-in GPU´s -

* Device #1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4260U CPU @ 1.40GHz, skipped

* Device #2: HD Graphics 5000, 1472/1536 MB (384 MB allocatable), 40MCU

so I chose -d 2 because -d 1 is skipped, maybe I am wrong -

you mean I skip -d 2 then both GPU´s will be running ?

concerning -a 0, I learned that I have to specify an attack mode and -a 0 is a dictionary attack -

you mean if I skip -a 0 then password.txt will be used as dictionary attack ?
-a 0 is default, so you can omit it. But adding it is not going to cause any problems.

The words in your wordlist must be delimited by a newline character not a comma.
-a 0 copied
concerning the words in a wordlist, my list contains 36 words and a special character, I thought that the attack mode -a 0 password.txt would do all the combinations of these words, if not how can I make the dictionary attack combine all the words listed in a text file ? I am asking because running the dictionary attack based on this list is a 3-second run, which is very short
you need to explain more clearly what you are trying to do.