hashcat Forum
USB Drive - Printable Version

+- hashcat Forum (https://hashcat.net/forum)
+-- Forum: Support (https://hashcat.net/forum/forum-3.html)
+--- Forum: hashcat (https://hashcat.net/forum/forum-45.html)
+--- Thread: USB Drive (/thread-8067.html)

USB Drive - a-blackw-d0w - 01-13-2019

I am trying to crack a password on my USB Drive, I was foolish and made a mistake locking myself out, curious if it's possible or not, I am new to using hashcat and not sure entirely if it's even possible to break AES(Twofish) the encryption was made with Veracrypt and the pass is 20 digits randomly made (password generator)

What I was looking to do is use a mask attack and read the wiki for more help with doing the proper code output, is there any advice on this? I am running Windows 10 latest updated. I am trying to get my keypass file back which holds all my passwords to everything I have. Sorry if I am asking foolish question, and not an expert on breaking passwords. I would be thankful for any advice.

RE: USB Drive - undeath - 01-13-2019

20 random digits on a veracrypt volume? That's too many.

RE: USB Drive - carmitchel - 01-13-2019

I agree that no password utility could crack such a long password if it is truly random. I am curious how the 20-character password was created. Also, such a long password must have been stored somewhere?

RE: USB Drive - a-blackw-d0w - 01-14-2019