Issue with custom rules
I'm new to oclhashcat and I'm currently having an issue with the rules. since a combinator attack is limited to two dictionaries, I've had to implement rules to help me test a password.

The password I am looking to crack is testbanana123, no capitals. The dictionaries only contain 3 words, for testing. They are identical but they both contain "test" and "banana"

I used maskprocessor to create a rules file containing on separate lines from $0 $0 $0 to $9 $9 $9. I then verified my understanding that I was creating the rules properly by using hashcat-cli stdout (since oclhashcat doesn't have an equivalent). hashcat-cli command is as follows:

hashcat-cli64.exe -m xxxx -r rules/xxx.rule hash.txt dictionary1.txt dictionary2.txt -stdout

It output a lot of passwords, including my test password.

My final oclhashcat command:
oclhashcat64.exe -m xxxx -r rules/xxx.rule hash.txt dictionary1.txt dictionary2.txt

My final oclhashcat command, however, did not find the correct password, exhausting the list.

So what am I doing wrong or not understanding?
Specifying two wordlists in -a 0 doesn't combine the wordlists, it just runs them in serial. So your command was analogous to the following two commands:

Code:
oclhashcat64 hash.txt dictionary1.txt -r rules/xxx.rule
oclhashcat64 hash.txt dictionary2.txt -r rules/xxx.rule

To combine the wordlists you'd need to use -a 1, but -r does not work in -a 1. What you'd probably want to do to crack passwords like this is use combinator.bin to join the two wordlists, then perform a hybrid attack:

Code:
hashcat-utils/combinator.bin dictionary1.txt dictionary2.txt >dictionary1_2.txt
oclhashcat64 hash.txt -a 6 dictionary1_2.txt ?d?d?d
Thanks epixoip. Looks like I was misunderstanding the ability to add rules alongside a combinator attack.