Looking to Learn
Hey Folks,

I'm pretty new to using Hashcat and cracking passwords, I've played around and tried some tests, I've used some hash lists from korelogic's crack me if you can contest, and I've had some minor successes. I was wondering if you had any suggestions on good places to start learning. Is there any fundamental place to start? Any readings or documentation that you think would be helpful would be greatly appreciated.

I have lots of questions about how it all works for example:
How do encryption engines use salts?
How do you crack hashes when salts are used?
Do you need to know the salt to crack a hash?
How do you tell what type of hash it is by looking at it?

Any pointers on good resources to learn more would be greatly appreciated. If you have any info just let me know.

Thanks in advance
Quote: I've used some hash lists from korelogic's crack me if you can contest, and I've had some minor successes.

cmiyc hashes probably aren't the best starting point, unless you're using the hashes from 2010 or 2011. maybe try your hand at some leaked hashes on pastebin, or one of the larger public leaks like linkedin or stratfor.

Quote:How do encryption engines use salts?

the first thing you have to learn is that hashing is not the same as encryption. the second thing is that it completely depends upon the algorithm. maybe pick one specific algorithm and study how it uses salts. starting simple, md5(pass.salt) appends the salt to the password before hashing it with the md5 algorithm.

Quote:How do you crack hashes when salts are used?

specify the appropriate salted algorithm, and supply your hash string in the appropriate format.

Quote:Do you need to know the salt to crack a hash?

yes. salts are not secret, they are typically part of the hash string itself. if you've lost the salts, never had the salts, or the algorithm uses a shared secret rather than a salt, you'll have to be more clever in your approach.