Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
I tried to specify a MS-CACHEv2 hash inside of cudaHashcat x64 by typing
-m 1100. When I entered the hash it said that it was too long. I have a 32 character hash. So instead I set it as an MD4 with -m 900. Will this be ok or am I doing something wrong?
Posts: 85
Threads: 15
Joined: Jun 2010
01-16-2014, 02:38 AM
(This post was last modified: 01-16-2014, 02:42 AM by blazer.)
no this won't be ok.
MD4 is used inside the DCC1 algorithm which is then part of mscachev2
Overall Algo: PBKDF2(HMAC-SHA1, 10240, DCC1 <<[md4 is used here], username)
You are most likely missing the username component which is used in the salting process.
While MD4 is used within the overall algorithm it accounts for a small part of the actual mscache2 algo, what you are doing will NOT work.
Have you tried loading in the hash with the username? eg hash:username
Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
01-16-2014, 03:05 AM
(This post was last modified: 01-16-2014, 03:07 AM by tootech4u.)
(01-16-2014, 02:38 AM)blazer Wrote: no this won't be ok.
MD4 is used inside the DCC1 algorithm which is then part of mscachev2
Overall Algo: PBKDF2(HMAC-SHA1, 10240, DCC1 <<[md4 is used here], username)
You are most likely missing the username component which is used in the salting process.
While MD4 is used within the overall algorithm it accounts for a small part of the actual mscache2 algo, what you are doing will NOT work.
Have you tried loading in the hash with the username? eg hash:username
Thanks it seems to be working!