Help with cisco ASA formatting
Hello,

I'm trying to un-hash an ASA username/pwd. I have the username, and the hash for the password from the config. When I use hash-type 2400 for the Cisco PIX, it does not work, but when I select the 2410, it fails with a line length exception. What is the proper method for entering this? I've heard that the ASA will salt the 1st 4 of the username, but not sure how to enter this in the password file. From what I understand, the console/enable hashes are straight MD5, but the actual LOCAL user database hashes are different (with the 4-character salt?)

I know the password at this point, so its more of a training exercise.

Any guidance, or a polite RTFM it was right <here> would be great!

Thank you
I am no expert but if I understand correctly, the hash is calculated from using the plaintext password + the first four characters of the username. So if you have a wordlist, you will need to append those first four characters to every line in the wordlist.

Example ASA configuration:
username test password W77doHGDnHvf5vZv encrypted

The password above is hash1234, so in your wordlist there needs to be a word hash1234test to get a successful hit.
(10-02-2014, 08:28 PM)stevedtech Wrote: What is the proper method for entering this?
[...]

It was right here: http://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=example_hashes
(10-02-2014, 11:29 PM)epixoip Wrote:
(10-02-2014, 08:28 PM)stevedtech Wrote: What is the proper method for entering this?
[...]

It was right here: http://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=example_hashes

Im sorry epixoip, but I don't see where an example hash answers my question on the link.

Gearjunkie's response is helpful though! Given this, that means we know the last 4 characters of the password (because we have the username) - how would the command line be written then? Would the mask be something like ?a?a?a?a?a?a?a?a?1?2?3?1, where you define character sets 1=t 2=e 3=s?