Easy for you, hard for me - mask writing
Hi, sorry it's my first attempt and i'm finding documentation confusing and searched forums to no avail. I think this is a very simple question.

I am trying to crack a WPA hash where I know most of the password. It is either 8 or 9 characters long, so it goes like this: ?crossa7?

So I only don't know the first character and the last character. It might be that 7 is the last character. How do I write the mask rules for this? Thanks so much!
Also ideally, I would like to limit the first character to all upper and lower case letters, instead of only upper case letters or only lower case letters.
Actually it does not matter because the keyspace is so small. Just use the followings:

-a 3 whatever.hccap ?acrossa7
-a 3 whatever.hccap ?acrossa7?a
-a 3 whatever.hccap crossa7?a
-a 3 whatever.hccap crossa7?a?a
OK, thank you very much. You are suggesting, I guess, that I try these each one at a time, because there are so few possibilities it won't take long, right? So let's say for example it wasn't such a simple problem.

How is it possible to instruct one place to guess all uppercase and lowercase letters?

Also, how to instruct to first guess 7 letter passwords, then 8 letter passwords, etc.? I see the password min and maximum flag there in the help file, however I am not sure how to use it. Thanks again.
I have run the program with the rules recommended...I am not quite sure how to read the results, if they are successful or not. I don't see any error messages. However when I command --show, I get the message:

ERROR: cannot open pot file 'hashcat.pot' (2) : No such file or directory
(06-15-2015, 05:21 AM)jacknimble Wrote: I have run the program with the rules recommended...I am not quite sure how to read the results, if they are successful or not. I don't see any error messages. However when I command --show, I get the message:

ERROR: cannot open pot file 'hashcat.pot' (2) : No such file or directory