Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
Hello,
I recently wanted to try OclHashCat
I downloaded the default Hash from this website (the password is supposed to be hashcat)
$P$984478476IagS59wHZvyQMArzfx58u.
Here is my cmd-line using Brute-force-mask :
Quote:cudaHashcat64.exe -a 3 -1 hash?l -m 400 hascc.hash
Am I doing it right ? As I know the beggining of the password (hash + ?l which should test all possibility after the word hash, so it should take like 25 seconds to find the "cat" remaining, why can't I find it then ?)
Thx
Posts: 2,267
Threads: 16
Joined: Feb 2013
mask work position-wise, you need to specify the built-in or custom charset (or hardcoded char) for each and every position
so this should work:
cudaHashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 400 hascc.hash hashca?l
and also this:
cudaHashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 400 hascc.hash hash?l?l?l
see also --increment switch.
Please note that the hash file must always be specified before the mask/dictionary/directory/mask file etc
you do not need -1 (or --custom-charset1) since ?l is a built-in charset.
Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your help, I understand now :-)
(cracked super fast m'lol)
Quote:$P$984478476IagS59wHZvyQMArzfx58u.:hashcat
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Cracked
Input.Mode.....: Mask (hash?l?l?l) [7]
Hash.Target....: $P$984478476IagS59wHZvyQMArzfx58u.
Hash.Type......: phpass, MD5(Wordpress), MD5(phpBB3), MD5(Joomla)
Time.Started...: 0 secs
Speed.GPU.#1...: 7958.2 kH/s
Recovered......: 1/1 (100.00%) Digests, 1/1 (100.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 17576/17576 (100.00%)
Rejected.......: 0/17576 (0.00%)
HWMon.GPU.#1...: 0% Util, 54c Temp, N/A Fan
Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
Last question about mask,
If I set hash?l?l?l?l?l?l?l will hashcat find the password or it's going just try this specific lenght ?
Posts: 2,301
Threads: 11
Joined: Jul 2010
You will need to enable increment mode. By default it will only try the exact mask length.
Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
And without any settings, what is Hashcat going to do ?
Quote:cudaHashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 400 hascc.hash
Posts: 2,301
Threads: 11
Joined: Jul 2010
It will use the default mask.
Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
Hey, and the default mask test all character from 1 to 10 lenght-char ?
How can I test all char, like a real brute force
Posts: 12
Threads: 2
Joined: Aug 2015
cudaHashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 400 -i --increment-min=3 --increment-max=12 hash.txt
Is this correct ? Full brute-forcing ?
Posts: 2,936
Threads: 12
Joined: May 2012
You're missing a mask. But that hash is too slow to brute force anyway.