Clarifying Attack Type for PW Type
Hello all,

I am fairly new to this but have read through the Wiki and tutorial and wanted to make sure I'm understanding the various approaches correctly. I'm taking a cyber security course and learning about passwords and hashes, and wanted to try this on my own using my home network for testing.

I was able to capture the handshake for my home network and have the hccap file. For testing purposes, I put my password into the middle of a large word-list and I was able to get the dictionary-style attack to work.

My main question is, since my password is a bunch of random characters (for example: 8Gy69BZs), would I want to try to use a Brute-Force style attack for that?

Based on the wiki, it looks like I should run the following:

oclHashcat64.exe -m 2500 -a3 capture.hccap ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d

Am I correct in understanding this will run through every potential character and eventually should find my example password above? I know this would probably take a substantial amount of time, but if I'm on the right path I'd like to create a new password that's shorter just to test.

Sorry if this answer is already well explained somewhere, I've been trying to keep up but there's a lot to keep track of Sad
(04-29-2016, 09:13 PM)jcleary47 Wrote: My main question is, since my password is a bunch of random characters (for example: 8Gy69BZs), would I want to try to use a Brute-Force style attack for that?
Yes and no, for completely random passwords there is not really other options, but for wpa (which is slow) bruteforce can take between long and too late you died.

(04-29-2016, 09:13 PM)jcleary47 Wrote: oclHashcat64.exe -m 2500 -a3 capture.hccap ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d

Am I correct in understanding this will run through every potential character and eventually should find my example password above?
No, read more about mask attack/charsets.
(04-29-2016, 09:13 PM)jcleary47 Wrote: oclHashcat64.exe -m 2500 -a3 capture.hccap ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d