Looking for A Little Push
I am still learning the ways of Hashcat - I used a previous version a few years back for a single task, now I have another task.

My question is if anyone can give me a suggestion of the best way(s) (attack methods/wordlists/etc.) to start trying to crack a password file that has these rules:

Minimum password length = 10
Minimum lowercase chars = 1
Minimum uppercase chars = 1
Minimum numeric chars   = 1
Minimum symbolic chars  = 1

Obviously, brute-force is out being 10 chars minimum.  I have been reading many threads and taking notes, but I have been possibly trying to over analyze the best ways to start.

Being there are many of you on here that has experience, I thought I would ask for some feedback based on the password rules I listed.  There are ~2000 hashes in this file.
It sounds like you've discovered a number of options from your research. What are they? What criteria have you considered for prioritizing them?
~
(08-23-2016, 08:48 PM)royce Wrote: It sounds like you've discovered a number of options from your research. What are they? What criteria have you considered for prioritizing them?

That is a great question, Royce.

First, I have found many wordlists from posts and online, such as: english words, 1337, casemutation, first names, last names, as well as others.

I have read many opinions that say long word lists are not as important as applying rules to smaller, great word lists.

Thus my initial notes were:

(1) try a straight against the popular passwords file:  -a 0
(2) try a wordlist with brute-force:  -a 6 example.dict ?d?d?d?d
(3) try wordlists with rules: -r <rules file> <hashes> <dictionary>

On #3, I mostly have rules files that came with hashcat.

When I apply all of this, being I have ~10 wordlists as well as >10 rules files.  Suddenly I have many dozens of different attacks to try - which is good; however, I think this is also my reason for the post.