OpenCL installation on Linux
I'm on debian linux distro and I've installed the latest hashcat 3.40 but I'm having some problems...
any command I issue is giving me the following message:

"hashcat (v3.40) starting...

Mesa (Gallium) OpenCL platform detected!

It is known to cause errors which an unexperienced user could misinterpret as a bug in hashcat
You are STRONGLY encouraged to use the driver as listed in docs/readme.txt
You can use --opencl-platforms to manually deselect the platform and get rid of this error
You can use --force to override this but do not post error reports if you do so''

And I think it's related to the missing installation of openCL driver for my cpu (core i5 early 2010) but I'm not sure since I'm not an expert
If it's so, could you please tell me how to install OpenCL in order the get hashcat works?

P.S. I have nvidia gpu too, is it possible(or encouraged) to run hashcat using openCL side by side with nvidia driver?
or one driver's usage precludes the other one (and viceversa)??
Remove MESA. Install the proprietary Nvidia driver. Install the Intel OpenCL CPU runtime.
(03-12-2017, 02:05 AM)epixoip Wrote: Remove MESA. Install the proprietary Nvidia driver. Install the Intel OpenCL CPU runtime.

Ok got it....Do I need the Intel SDK package in addition to the openCL CPU runtime?
No, just the CPU runtime
(03-12-2017, 07:22 PM)epixoip Wrote: No, just the CPU runtime
Hi. Ive been having a lot of trouble getting opencl to work. Im using The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) and when i go on to the page and i dont see any download options for debian and when i try to install the ubantu one it says its incompatable in the installer. maybe im doing it wrong or idk. ive also tried a few other methods and still cant get hashcat to register my cpu
Please ask on The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) Forum, it's not a hashcat problem
(03-12-2017, 07:22 PM)epixoip Wrote: No, just the CPU runtime