multiple dictionaries in hashcat
(01-08-2012, 03:09 PM)Kgx Pnqvhm Wrote: I'm just a home hobbyist who dabbles with this,

I am surprised to read that, you are one of the more interesting posters on this forum. I was very interested in your ideas about word lists a while back, we have a similar view on them.

(01-08-2012, 03:09 PM)Kgx Pnqvhm Wrote: I look at all the various cracking software out there, to collect ideas, from their web sites and manuals, to see how to do the same with the hashcats,

This is very helpful and I appreciate your efforts. Please check the wiki here and if you think hashcat is missing anything else useful then please post it !

Have you any thoughts on password mutilations / rules ? Atom has provided a pretty comprehensive list of rules available to us and I have made a rule suggestion but I am very interested to know if you have any other ideas.
For me, hash cracking is an entertainment, like a chess game.
The fun is the art and science of making wordlists and rules.

The KoreLogic rules, along with Rick Redman's slide show explaining the ideas behind them, are a good starting point. I track how many mangles each produces, as a gauge to how long they take to run, so the quick rules can be run first, and the longer rules can be run later.
So what have you found so far? Would you mind sharing your current best practice?
(01-09-2012, 02:20 AM)Kgx Pnqvhm Wrote: For me, hash cracking is an entertainment, like a chess game.
The fun is the art and science of making wordlists and rules.

The KoreLogic rules, along with Rick Redman's slide show explaining the ideas behind them, are a good starting point. I track how many mangles each produces, as a gauge to how long they take to run, so the quick rules can be run first, and the longer rules can be run later.
Interesting stuff !