Help with more "complex" passwords
I hope this is the right place for this. Hello all, I'm somewhat new to Hashcat, and new here to the forum. I have recently taken an interest in Cyber Security audits, and Pen-testing. Soon I should have a GPU server at my disposal. That all said, I have been trying to look at different ways to attack non-standard passwords and variations. Being new to Hashcat what would be the best way to go about auditing a passwords of the following formats:

Examples:

1) /*thisIsaP@ssword++
2) 8RLD:;0Xza++

My main issue is getting something like a dictionary + hash, so say for example 1. I do "-a 6 ... rockyou.txt ?a" - that is only doing word combinations and trying different special char's at the end of the phrase. So what would be the best way for something like example 1? Is there some form of combinator with rules I should look at to do the beginning middle and end, or am I thinking about this all wrong?
(01-05-2021, 07:53 PM)Volinity Wrote: I hope this is the right place for this. Hello all, I'm somewhat new to Hashcat, and new here to the forum. I have recently taken an interest in Cyber Security audits, and Pen-testing. Soon I should have a GPU server at my disposal. That all said, I have been trying to look at different ways to attack non-standard passwords and variations. Being new to Hashcat what would be the best way to go about auditing a passwords of the following formats:

Examples:

1) /*thisIsaP@ssword++
2) 8RLD:;0Xza++

My main issue is getting something like a dictionary + hash, so say for example 1. I do "-a 6 ... rockyou.txt ?a" - that is only doing word combinations and trying different special char's at the end of the phrase. So what would be the best way for something like example 1? Is there some form of combinator with rules I should look at to do the beginning middle and end, or am I thinking about this all wrong?