Samsung T5 SSD Password Recovery?
My daughter put a password on her external Samsung T5 SSD and now she cannot remember the phrase she used and her social studies project is on it.

I am trying to find a way to "crack" it since it has little security in terms of the phrase but I am not that technical.

Any suggestions?
(03-07-2021, 11:55 PM)irishtigger Wrote: My daughter put a password on her external Samsung T5 SSD and now she cannot remember the phrase she used and her social studies project is on it.

I am trying to find a way to "crack" it since it has little security in terms of the phrase but I am not that technical.

Any suggestions?

When i get it right, these external ssd is selfencrypted and you need to use a programm (windows only?) to decrypt /open it. i dont think you are able to extract the needed keys from protected controller area (dont know how exactly it is implemented) to decrypt / cracking her password.

you can try to use other programms / devices (pi zero with p4wnp1) to act like a keyboard an feed it with your passwords and try a basic wordlist attack, dont know how the needed programm will respond to multiple bad passwords (closing itself, pushing a timer like next try 10 , 30 , 60 seconds and so on)
Snoopy - Thanks for the note. We are all on Windows 10. She has an i5 and I have an i7.

Would you explain how to do this?  I am a doctoral student in business and not computer savvy.

(03-09-2021, 02:40 PM)Snoopy Wrote:
(03-07-2021, 11:55 PM)irishtigger Wrote: My daughter put a password on her external Samsung T5 SSD and now she cannot remember the phrase she used and her social studies project is on it.

Any suggestions?

When i get it right, these external ssd is selfencrypted and you need to use a programm (windows only?) to decrypt /open it. i dont think you are able to extract the needed keys from protected controller area (dont know how exactly it is implemented) to decrypt / cracking her password.