Beginner. AD hash crack (min 12 char)
Hi

I'm new to this field, read some hascat wiki and hashcat forum and watched youtube information. I have not yet understood everything but I got an idea how it works. I was able to crack my own testhashes, so far i got the basic concept and usage of hashcat. Unfortunately I am struggling with increasing difficulty.

In our company (half public sector) we had a security training and the company offered us a challenge to crack one specific hash. It is likely a simple password, but not a short one). The password i sfollowing some standard Active Directory complexity settings but has a minimal lenght of 12 characters. I'm trying to find a good approach how to put my handy on it. I also installed The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) Linux and did my first experiments with it (beginner but like it). 

Bruteforce seems to be not suitable, (minimum 12 chracters long, could be even longer).
What I did:
- collected a wordlist (dictionary) of our local language
- collected a wordlist (cewl) from our homepage
- combined these two lists into one single wordlist. 

I would like to attack the hash, but struggling how to do it with rulesets/masks. May I ask if anyone could recommend a good guide how to approach it? Like a tutorial or good website explaining how to do it?

I think it would make sense somehow build a dictionary with some Baseword from the dictionary and numbers/special characters but lost a bit how to do it. Experimented with princeprocessor but didn't got very far with this. Or somehow with mask or combine it. 

Any recommendations?

Kind Regards,
Manuell
i think the hahscat wiki is a very good first spot to take a look

to achieve the things you mentioned there are 2 main possiblities, hashcat supports combining two wordlist, known as combinator attack, so you can use your first wordlist and generate a second one like this

hashcat --stdout -a 3 19?d?d