How do I add a dictionary like Rockyou?
Hi guys,

I'm quite new at this so normally I wouldn't be asking for help so early on but I'm lacking time to recover this password.

Could someone please give me an example command line of which command I'd have to issue to add a dictionary (like rockyou) to crack a phpass string?

I managed to get a simple brute force command working with some help from the Wiki but the status displayed it'd take > 10 years! I'm not sure if that's normal but surely it wouldn't decrease enough compared with the few days I have left to recover this password.

Help would be much appreciated!
if you use the gui version it'll show you the commands.
Most basic commands:

cd /path/to/binary/

./oclHashcat-plus64.bin -m 0 -a 0 /path/to/hashlist.txt /path/to/dictionary.txt

for multiple dicts in one folder:

./oclHashcat-plus64.bin -m 0 -a 0 /path/to/hashlist.txt /path/to/dictionaryfolder

for combinationattack:

./oclHashcat-plus64.bin -m 0 -a 1 /path/to/hashlist.txt /path/to/dictionary1.txt /path/to/dictionary2.txt
Hi guys,

Thanks for your replies. I got a dictionary attack working, unfortunately it has been running for 3 hours now and the time left display is 13 years.

Am I just unlucky with the password I need to crack or are my settings wrong?
What hashtype?

Hashcat should run through a 5gb dictionary in a few minutes if hashtype is MD5 and mode is normal.
Ah I must've done something wrong then. I used the GUI to select "NVIDIA (CUDA)" and selected phpass in cudahashcat-plus.

I did this cause I didn't see phpass in the normal Hashcat with "CPU only".

Should I pick MD5(phpBB3) in normal hashcat?

Thanks for your quick replies!
I think no.

I don` t know much about phpass() but this is the description:

- Hash algorithm (blowfish, DES, or MD5 in that order if available)
- Salt (random unique salt generated for each password)
- Iterations or password stretching (a specified number of iterations or rounds set as desired)

Source: