Creating a secure hash?
As a web designer I am looking to create a hash that is hard to crack. I found this site and thought to ask for info that anyone can give. I created a somewhat random function with php. Any help and feedback would be very much appreciated.
Code:
function dbHash($password,$name){
global $salt;
if(isOdd(strlen($password))){
    return sha1($salt.$password.$name).md5($name.$salt.$password);
    }else{
    return md5($salt.$password.$name).sha1($password.$name.$salt);
    }
}
//
function isOdd( $int )
{
  return( $int & 1 );
}
Would we add something as obscure as that? Probably not.

Would someone come up with a way to work those? Depends on how bad they want in.

Is it secure? No.

Require strong passwords and use a slow algo.
Is it better than just using md5 or sha1?
I think with the proper motivation nothing is 100 secure. If someone wants to find a way in they will.
Thank you for your reply.
Unfortunately, that's not really all that secure. Especially if someone manages to leverage your source.
The best way to guarantee decent security is to assume that your source has already been compromised.

Personally, I would recommend using bcrypt with a high iteration count (lets say 10 or 12). Just make sure you are salting per user.
Just as a P.S.:
No new code bases should be using MD5 or SHA1 for security in the modern age.
Your algorithm is nothing more than security through obscurity.

Immediate issues identified:
  1. You're using a "global salt", so it isn't really a salt at all -- it's just a shared secret, which is no longer a secret if the site is compromised. the real salt in your algorithm is the username. so the "salt" adds no additional security whatsoever.

2. An attacker does not need to compute both the sha1 and the md5. they can simply grab the first & last 32 characters from each hash, and crack them all as straight salted md5. this would only provide a 2x slowdown since you would have duplicate salts.