Totally lost!
Sad 
Sorry if the questions I am going to ask are actually really simple! Even after reading help pages and watching videos, I still don't get what to do with hashcat! I know someone that had lost her 6 digit password to a website and would like to "crack" it. I have downloaded Hashcat Gui and Hashcat v0.48. I have some numbers that might have been used in the password and I have converted the numbers to an MD5 hash through a generator. I suppose the mode I should use will be "Brute-force". However, I realised that none of the videos or help pages show where I should put the website link. So, I don't get how cracking of passwords are supposed to happen if there is no target!

I am also facing problem using command prompt, even after scanning, running as an administrator, when I type in CD" my location of the file for hashcat" it says that it cannot find the path specified...

I am totally new to password cracking and all the rules are really hard to comprehend... Thanks for reading this long message! Please, please enlighten me! All the websites I have seen lamented how "easy" it is to crack passwords but it is super difficult to me! I hope I can finally use hashcat!
you are confusing online password cracking and offline password cracking. what you are looking to do is online password cracking, but hashcat is for offline password cracking. so hashcat cannot do what you are wanting to do.
(12-03-2014, 06:15 AM)epixoip Wrote: you are confusing online password cracking and offline password cracking. what you are looking to do is online password cracking, but hashcat is for offline password cracking. so hashcat cannot do what you are wanting to do.

I see... Thank you for replying! What does offline password cracking do? Are there any other applications for online password cracking?