Configuration suggestions
Hello everyone,

First of all, this is my first time building a custom pc, so please forgive me if I did something stupid or noobish.
I'd wish to build my first cpu dedicated to hash cracking, at the moment my plan is just to play with a single 970 card, in the future I could upgrade to 2x 980 cards.
After reading several setups, I wrote down this configuration, what do you think about it?

CPU: Intel Core i5-6400 2.7GHz Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: Asus H170-PRO ATX LGA1151 MotherboardĀ 
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury Black 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR4-2133 Memory
Storage: Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 4GB Video Card
Case: Corsair 100R ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply: Corsair VS 550W ATX Power Supply

Finally a little note about reference video cards: here in Europe is almost impossible to find a reference design 970/980 card, what could you suggest? Do you know any non-reference design that is still good enough?
https://hashcat.net/forum/search.php : search "configuration"
> https://hashcat.net/forum/thread-4689.html
Page 2 : https://hashcat.net/forum/thread-4689-po...l#pid26555
I'd change most of the system and would buy a
- different mainboard depending on what you want to do with it, but surely not this one; too expensive, Realtek NIC etc.
- different CPU; you either use that CPU for cracking, then get the 6500 for a little more; or you don't then get the 6100 for much less
- memory in 2x4GB configuration (or 2x8GB)
- SSD instead of HDD
- different PSU, since 550W is not sufficient for an upgrade to 2xGPUs
Thank you very much!
Can you please suggest a valid motherboard?

Regarding CPU cracking: is that really an option? AFAIK (and I know very little...) GPU always performs better than CPU, even on slow hashes, especially if you use PRINCE.
But again, I could be totally wrong.
You are wrong, but not totally wrong. Depends on what you're working with.