Excel SHA512 salts and hashes
Tongue 
I am working on an Excel salted SHA512 hash but I am stumped (which isn't a surprise since I am a total noob at this). When I look at the hash examples a salted SHA512 hash should either be given as type 1710 ($hash:$salt) 128 hex characters:10 numericals or as type 1720 ($salt:$hash) 128 hex characters:10 numericals for hashcat to work. This creates two questions:

1. Why is the format identical for the both variants? Shouldn't type 1720 have a shorter numerical salt followed by a longer hex hash for the password? I.e 10 numericals:128 hex characters?

2. And does anybody here know how Excel's salting algorithm work? The salt is given (I extracted it the traditional way via ziping) as a 18 character long base64 string. I tried transforming it to hex, but that gave me a 32 hex character string that I cant get hashcat to accept. 

And another question, the xml-file from excell also contains the words spinCount="100000". Does this in fact mean that Excel did 100 000 iterations of the SHA512 hashes? Is there anything I can or should do in the command promt because of this? The (known) password I am trying to crack is only three lowercase letters so it should still be doable, right?

I am not actually a coder so if you formulate your answer as you would to a complete idiot (a picture I think you will have no problem holding in your head ;) it would be highly appreciated :)
have a look at mode 9400/9500/9600

In most cases you cannot simply use the generic implementations to crack something of which you merely know what underlying hashing function is used.

To extract the necessary info from your document use https://github.com/magnumripper/JohnTheR...ce2john.py
(08-19-2017, 11:01 AM)undeath Wrote: have a look at mode 9400/9500/9600

In most cases you cannot simply use the generic implementations to crack something of which you merely know what underlying hashing function is used.