Proper Dictionary Usage
Sorry I am new to hashcat but I love playing with GPUs. I am trying to get the password for an encrypted LTC wallet that I forgot the password too. I got the password hash and it's SHA-256 and I have one computer dedicated to brute forcing it which may take years so I am using my other machine to use a dictionary attack. Here is the command I am using but it isn't working 
Code:
hashcat64 -m 1400 -a 3 Hash.txt  realuniq.lst -o Done.txt

realuniq.lst is the wordlist, Hash.txt is where the hash is stored and it's outputting it to Done.txt. Also are my arguements correct to fully utilize a GTX1080? Thanks for the info.
Litecoin wallets (wallet.dat) use a very specific algorithm which hashcat covers with hash mode:
-m 11300 = Bitcoin/Litecoin wallet.dat

use bitcoin2john.py to extract the "hash" (remove all file names and the separating colons from the output, see: https://hashcat.net/wiki/example_hashes)
(01-02-2018, 11:59 PM)philsmd Wrote: Litecoin wallets (wallet.dat) use a very specific algorithm which hashcat covers with hash mode:

use bitcoin2john.py to extract the "hash" (remove all file names and the separating colons from the output, see: https://hashcat.net/wiki/example_hashes)

Thanks but I guess I should have been a bit more specific. The wallet is encrypted in 7zip so I used hashcat 7zip to take the 7zip hash of the file used that to get the password hash. Now I am trying to crack that password to decrypt it.
why are you trying -m 1400 in your first post then?
(01-03-2018, 01:38 AM)undeath Wrote: why are you trying -m 1400 in your first post then?

Like I said I am new. Isn't 1400 for SHA-256?