Trying to increase performance of mask attack with a two character prefix
Shocked 
Hi,

I am completely new to hashcat and am trying process as many MD5 hashes of the input "0.################" per second, where '#' is a digit 0-9. The mask I am currently using to attempt this is "0.?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d", however this is significantly slower than if I use the mask "?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d" which does not include the prefix. I am aware that the first four characters in the mask should allow for lots of possible combinations to increase GPU utilisation. I have seen that using the ($salt.$pass) variation of the MD5 algorithm can be a possible solution however this has not been the case for me.

Using the non-prefix mask I achieve ~650 MH/s
Using the prefix mask I achieve ~420 MH/s
Using the salt method (-m 20) I achieve ~280 MH/s

Would love to know how I can fix this if possible

Thanks
The strategy to use -m 20 is the right one as -m 20 is around 10-100 times faster than -m 0 if the mask has a static prefix. The reason why this is not in your case is because your prefix is not entirely static. Only 2 of 4 letters are and therefore hashcat is able to get some speed out of it of the remaining 2. There's no other way to speed this up except to hack the kernel and make it use w[1] instead of w[0] for the inner loop iteration.
(01-28-2018, 07:17 PM)atom Wrote: The strategy to use -m 20 is the right one as -m 20 is around 10-100 times faster than -m 0 if the mask has a static prefix. The reason why this is not in your case is because your prefix is not entirely static. Only 2 of 4 letters are and therefore hashcat is able to get some speed out of it of the remaining 2. There's no other way to speed this up except to hack the kernel and make it use w[1] instead of w[0] for the inner loop iteration.

Sorry for being a pain but what file(s) would I need to edit and is there any resources out there on how to do this?