complex password alternation
Hi

I am trying to recover a lost rar PW. I have never used hashcat before and I dont know if I will be able to do what I am intending to do.
- The password is quite long, about 25 characters. I do know the first part, about 20 characters
- the PW is lowercase, except a maximum of 2 characters
- a maximum of 2 characters may be l33t (only: a-@ e-3 i-1 o-0 s-5 g-6)
- the password may be followed by a max 5 digit number
- the whole thing may be followed by a special character (!$&@)

if I can get hashcat to consider these limitation and do a recovery with about 5000pw/s, it should take less than a week.
Can anyone help me with this?
which type of rar archives we are talking about here?

hashcat supports these 2 hash types for rar archives:
-m 12500 = RAR3-hp
-m 13000 = RAR5

(the non-hp version of rar3, i.e. the one without header protection/encryption, is not currently supported)

I think you could deal with this missing 5 characters with different attack modes and you need to see which is the fastest for you.

In general, if you have a static/constant prefix you should actually use some salted alternatives of the algorithm (e.g. for md5 ($salt . $pass) you do not use md5 ($pass) , but the salted alternative). Unfortunately rar3 has no salted alternatives.

Therefore, we need to stick with the other attack types that make sense here:
-a 6 (hybrid attack, a mask at the right hand site)
-a 1 (combinator attack, 2 dicts), the static part (20 chars) is in the first dict
-a 0 (with rules)

in theory, you could also use rules to prefix the password candidates with a static string and append the missing characters, but note that the number of rule functions is limited to 31 (see https://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=rul...imitations), so we are already close to the limit if you intend to use 20 rules for prefixing a static string.