Rule Question
If I run a dictionary attack with a rule, does it automatically run the dictionary attack without applying the rule.

I realize that it only takes a few seconds to run a plain dictionary attack, but I am curious.
Fair question.

If the rule file contains the "do nothing" rule directive ( : - just a colon by itself), then the original unmodified input words will be used.
hashcat will not run the unmodified word unless a rule in the rules file returns the unmodified word again.
Thanks for the info.