1 Motherboard, 8 GPUs -- PCIe Splitter?
Question 
Hi all,

I have a single motherboard which has 4 PCIe x16 and 1 PCIe x1 slots. I have 8 HD7950 GPUs. I've looked into splitters a bit, and found this: http://www.amfeltec.com/products/x1pcie-splitter3.php

Though, I am unsure as to how the PCIe x1 will properly connect to the PCIe x16 connector. According to this article: http://champagneandsecurity.wordpress.co...w-q1-2012/ and here: http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 , it is possible to connect it.

Can anyone weigh-in on my question? I have 1 motherboard, and 8 GPUs. How can I make all of them connect on the single motherboard?

Thanks!
Hmm. I think that many people would be curious to know if these splitters would work. Connecting the gpus will be one thing, getting them properly recognized by the OS might be an issue but I am not an expert in this. The other issue would be the power that they would be drawing from the motherboard or the effect on the GPU if they can't have that power from the motherboard. I will be following this thread to see what the experts say about them.
You don't need the full x16 lane. x1 is all that is used anyway, however, I don't know how the driver will treat 3 devices per lane... you might just have to get it and see what happens.

I should also say that you will most likely see longer than average loading times for wordlists since you will be tripling the work over a x1 lane.
As a heads-up to complete the life of this thread, I wound up getting two motherboards and am using VCL to connect them together. Though, as it can be seen in my newest thread, there are issues with that as well.
Sorry for the late reply here, don't check this forum very often.

Yes, we have connected 8 graphics cards to one machine using two PCIe slots and two of those splitters linked in the first post.

We have done this with first with Nvidia (gtx580) and then with ATI (HD 7970) cards.