Linux Driver Installation Question
Good morning.

I'm building up a 4 GPU cracking system for our team. Tyan barebones, 4 GTX 770s, etc.

In my previous life, I was a Windows admin, and my Linux skills are still pretty weak. Our team lead thought this would be a good project for me to brush up on Linux skills. I'm popping Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server onto the system this afternoon. My question is what nVidia drivers and packages do I need to install for oclHashCat to function properly? Not versions, I got that, but do I just need the nVidia display drivers, or do I need to set up CUDA 5.5 as well? Are there any other packages and dependencies I should install first? Is there anything I need to remove besides nouveau?

Thanks.
Nvidia for hash cracking? Any advantages comparing to AMD?
(12-20-2013, 04:08 PM)Wushu Wrote: Good morning.

I'm building up a 4 GPU cracking system for our team. Tyan barebones, 4 GTX 770s, etc.

In my previous life, I was a Windows admin, and my Linux skills are still pretty weak. Our team lead thought this would be a good project for me to brush up on Linux skills. I'm popping Ubuntu 12.04 LTS Server onto the system this afternoon. My question is what nVidia drivers and packages do I need to install for oclHashCat to function properly? Not versions, I got that, but do I just need the nVidia display drivers, or do I need to set up CUDA 5.5 as well? Are there any other packages and dependencies I should install first? Is there anything I need to remove besides nouveau?

Thanks.

Grab the latest driver and latest oclHashcat. Install the driver, reboot, unpack hashcat and you should be good to go.
Thanks radix.