hashcat and linux
Hi
I am new with hashcat.
I tested hashcat with mask on windows 8.1 and on The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) linux(virtual mashine)
both 64 bit

I started same command in both machines and I was wondering why windows with 8 cores takes longer
than virtual machine with 3.

little comparison and I noticed that in linux it only uses 6 character mask.

command I started in both is same(below)
hashcat -m 0 -a 3 md5_hash.txt ?a?a?a?a?a?a?a?a

mask is 8 characters long, but linux side it uses only 6, is there bug in linux version or am I missing something?

file contains 3 simple passwords that are hashed with md5
hashcat command line version applies masks of incremental lengths, i.e. first try ?a than ?a?a, etc. Seems like ?a?a?a?a?a?a [6] is taking a long time (no surprise there) so add "--pw-min=8" to jump straight to 8 character. There's also a --pw-max option if you want to use that.

So try:
hashcat -m 0 -a 3 --pw-min=8 md5_hash.txt ?a?a?a?a?a?a?a?a
thanks I will try that and
I had that min-pw parameter earlier.
I understood that min-pw=6 will skip passwords less than 6 character long passwords.

But
I executed hashcat in both from command line.

linux versio says "input mode: mask (?a?a?a?a?a?a) [6]"
even in command line I have 8x ?a
also estimation time was something like 15-18 hours

on windows
same command says "input mode: mask (?a?a?a?a?a?a?a?a) [8]"
estimation time is 194 days 2 hours ....

only difference is that linux is running in virtual machine.
I will try same command at home where I have linux installed straight in computer
(08-21-2015, 11:57 AM)kirini Wrote: I had that min-pw parameter earlier.

Well it wasn't there in the command you posted. You should really copy-paste the EXACT command you're using otherwise you will just waste people's time. I'm still not convinced your command is correct...