New with The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) Linux
I was just wondering if anyone can point me in a direction to building my own password cracking rig as i find cryptography very interesting
I have a fully downloadable The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) Linux USB and bunch of spare computer components from GPUS to MOBOS etc etc..

I just need clarification that in order to use an R9 270x to hash with i will need OCL version of hashcat right?

And if i use a wordlist and the password was " hashcat123 " but only hashcat was in the list, isnt there a way to specify the program to put 123 at the end?
Something like ?n?n?n or something lol?

Anyways, i am very new to this so if someone could point me in a good direction to get a rig going and start cracking hashes please let me know by commenting or PMing me

Thanks everyone!
K
Quote:I was just wondering if anyone can point me in a direction to building my own password cracking rig as i find cryptography very interesting
I have a fully downloadable The-Distribution-Which-Does-Not-Handle-OpenCL-Well (Kali) Linux USB and bunch of spare computer components from GPUS to MOBOS etc etc..

I just need clarification that in order to use an R9 270x to hash with i will need OCL version of hashcat right?

use the latest beta that can be downloaded here. hashcat-3.0.0 now combines CPU and GPU version into one.

Quote:And if i use a wordlist and the password was " hashcat123 " but only hashcat was in the list, isnt there a way to specify the program to put 123 at the end?
Something like ?n?n?n or something lol?

use attack mode -a 6 where you can append masks ?d?d?d

Quote:Something like ?n?n?n or something lol?

From your questions, I can see that you have not read the wiki or run ./hachat64.bin --help. Start there first, and search the forum for answers.

Best regards,
Azren
hey thanks man! I will for sure check these out!
K