Noob Extracting VeraCrypt MBR
I'm a total noob when it comes to hashcat.
I have a Veracrypt HDD I fully encrypted with default settings.
Being and idiot I forgot the password. I'm pretty sure I remember the letters and numbers and characters used in the password.

My current problem is I am trying to figure out how to copy the boot loader to get the hash to try cracking it.

I used

dd if=/dev/sdc1 of=/home/tj/Documents/dump bs=1 skip=31744 count=512

Which created the dump file.

I then opened it using vi.

vi /home/tj/Documents/dump

Then opened hex editor.

:%!xxd

Which converted it to hex but instead of staying Veracrypt at the top its just a bunch of random letters and .

Anyone help?

Thanks.
Where did you get the information from that it needs to have a "Veracrypt" string in it?
This is not true as far as I can tell.
You are basically searching for something (the "Veracrypt" thing) that shouldn't be there if you extracted it correctly.

There are also some TrueCrypt example data on the example wiki (yeah, I know TrueCrypt is not VeraCrypt, but they are very similar when it comes to extracting etc) and also they do not have any hardcoded string in it (or as you would say it's just some random letters and symbols, and that is exactly what is to be expected).

https://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=example_hashes
https://passcovery.com/helpdesk/knowledg...article=48

This is what I was going off. It says when pulling the true crypt it says it when you open the file in a hex editor. So I was just assuming that Veracrypt was the same.
Well, that's very different, both the size of the binary data and they don't even use an offset (the skip parameter).
Of course if you skip 31744 from the start you won't find the "Truecrypt΅ header which is at about offset 0x0 (the very beginning).
It's also not very good to mix-up the steps involved by hashcat with the ones of a different cracking tool (if you do not know exactly what these dd command do, including skip etc).