Help with 7Z Hash
Hello, I am new to using hashcat so please forgive me if I am missing something stupid. 

Anyway, I am trying to access a .7Z file to which I've forgotten the password. I'm pretty sure it's a combination of other various passwords I have used, so plan to add them all to a dictionary file and configure Hashcat to try every possible combmination of them. 

However, before I get to that stage - I understand I need to obtain the hash from the .7Z file so have downloaded and used "7z2hashcat64-1.2" I then used the following command: "7z2hashcat64-1.2.exe file.7z >temphash" and a file was saved called "temphash" 

I then run: 

hashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 11600 temphash

It returns: 

Hashfile 'temphash' on line 1 
*hash text omitted*

No hashes loaded.

I then change the temphash file to unicode and resave, running the same command again, only to receive: 

Hashfile 'temphash' on line 1 ( ■$): Signature unmatched
Hashfile 'temphash' on line 2 (): Line-length exception
No hashes loaded.

Does anyone have any input? Am I missing something? 

Thanks!
Check to see if your Hash matches the same context of the example. Appears there is something wrong with your hash would be my first assumption.

https://hashcat.net/wiki/doku.php?id=example_hashes

Otherwise, if you're just running a bruteforce with no parameters it could be the other reason for throwing an error. 

Quote:hashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 11600 temphash

This won't do anything. You need to add a length to the attack if you haven't already.

hashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 11600 temphash password?d?d?d?d for example.
Thank you for the input!

Unfortunately, I just tried "hashcat64.exe -a 3 -m 11600 temphash password?d?d?d?d" and had the same issue. 

I took a look at the link you posted, and aside from my hash being much much longer - the basic formatting appears to be the same.