How are Litecoin wallets encrypted?
I'm still new to hashcat so if there is a kind soul out there that is willing to shed some light onto my situation I would greatly appreciate it.

So I've got an old Litecoin Core wallet from 2013 (even have the old wallet exe file too!) that is locked. I roughly know what the password is but I wanted to understand the decryption process better so I made a blank wallet and set the password to 12345.

I ran pywallet on it and got this section at the end with the encrypted private key hash and salt:
Encrypted Key: bdb6bcd04421558ddf7944814de5c7c25817d63a3a71dcf9777c784c4fdc7e459169452582f57551753ceb126402834a
Salt:
     4d123683488a3c0f

This is where my understand of encryption drops though. My theory is that this is SHA384 purely due to the length of the hash but if SHA384 is a truncated version of SHA512 then is there a way I can convert this to SHA512 with a salt and then just run that through hashcat?

Also, I have run JTR on this test wallet as well and I can crack that no problem (cause the pass is only 12345) but my speeds are only around 7,000 H/s (running a 7950 and a Vega 64).

But if the Litecoin private key encryption is truely only SHA384 or SHA512 then shouldn't I be able to take advantage of the speeds of SHA512 decryption?

Like I said I'm still new to this so if anyone can help explain this to me it would be really helpful cause I'm sure there are some basic concepts I'm not grasping here.

Thanks in advance!
You do not need to guess. The details of the algorithm to derive a key from the user password and use this to encrypt the data/wallet is documented all over the internet, e.g. see here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Wallet_encryption