Newbie Wallet
Hello,

Sorry if I'm aksing what's been asked before, but I could only find a single similar 5 year old thread.

I've a DOGECOIN wallet that I last used in early 2014, which I've forgotten the passphrase for.

It's not worth a professional cracker as it's only got 12067 coins ($40 approx).

But I'd really like to try and access it. I think I know 6 chars of the pwd which won't be more that 16 chars.

Is hashcat suitable? How can I use it for this?

I'm not very technical, but can figure things out when pointed in the right direction.

Thanks if you're willing to help.
What is the thread you are referring at ?

What are the files that you have ? wallet.dat ?

Which software (and which version of that software) did generate this wallet ?

hashcat support bitcoin/litecoin/electrum wallets... maybe your wallet is similar to a "normal" bitcoin wallet !?
With all the facts/details that I asked above, it should be easy to find that out.
Dogecoin's original wallet client was a derivative of the bitcoin client and as such, can be attacked using the bitcoin wallet.dat modes. That only would work for the original wallet and not any secondary/third-party wallet client of any kind.
Thanks for your replies. Yes, it's a wallet.dat from 2014. I'm finding the documentation hard to follow. What would be the command line, say for running this in the wallet.dat mode for 16 chars?
you use bitcoin2john.py to convert the wallet.dat file into a hash:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/magnum...in2john.py

install and use python 2.7 to use that python script above, remove all the file names (and colons) from the output, seee https://hashcat.net/wiki/example_hashes for a valid example hash for -m 11300

brute-forcing a 16 character password is infeasible

use a dictionary-based attack (maybe with a few rules -r my.rules) instead
Thanks Phil!
Ok - I've got closer. I've that bitcoin2john hash into a text file, and I can run:

hashcat64 -m 11300 hash.txt