Trouble with veracrypt volume
I'm desperately trying to get back into a veracrypt volume I created that has all my cryptocurrency passwords in it. 

I'm new to this and I don't think I fully understand what I need to do. 

The veracrypt volume is a container file rather than a drive, and I know the password is composed of a limited number of "words"/components. so something like "sun7CRABforkBUM" I know all the possible components but not which order or how many, so it could be as little as 5 components or as many as 10, but only from a predefined list, with any word potentially capitalised or not

As far as I could tell, it was a combinator attack I needed to use, so I tried this:

hashcat64.exe -m 13721 -a 1 "s:\crypto" "S:\Downloads\hashcat-4.0.1\crypto.dict"

where "crypto" is the name of my veracrypt volume and "crypto.dict" is a list of all possible password components. 

When I try and run this command I get the usage example prompt. If I try with mode 0 then it says no hash file.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong here?
Well, first i would start by suggesting you use something like Prince or another external candidate generator for this since the built in combinator mode doesnt support more than 2 elements at a time. Second, if you are going to use combinator, you need to specify 2 dictionaries, or the same dictionary twice. You have only specified it once in your example.
Cool, so say I use prince to generate a list of candidates, am I right in pointing hashcat to the veracrypt volume and the candidate list or do I need to do more than that?

I've read conflicting info about using the veracrypt file vs a hash file. In honesty I have no idea how to generate a hash file if I need to.
You simply need the first 512bytes of the volume i believe, as it contains the volume header with all the information related to the KDF and the password.