First year of medical school notes encrypted; begging for help
Question 
Weird scenario and at the mercies of intellectual and technological beings surpassing myself in this arena:

I am a first year medical student. I decided to buck the system and make a 12” iPad Pro my main note taking device for school instead of a laptop (love me some Apple Pencil). I collected documents, lectures, and all my notes on the device most of which are irreplaceable and represent 1000+ of hours of work.

When I pre-ordered this 500gb model from Apple I felt like my destiny wasn’t to include the particular type of despair I am encountering. I got the device and immediately noticed alot of input problems with it. Still, and once the semester had begun, the thought of sending my only means of studying aside from paper and pencil off for several weeks for Apple to check it out, didn’t seem feasible. So I waited until the first year was over to pursue getting the device repaired or replaced under warranty. I obviously was advised to back the device up in iTunes and factory reset it prior to shipping, which I did. I did not choose to encrypt it by assigning a password on it. I performed the steps and sent it in. I received a total device replacement within the same week, to my surprise, and approached the backup to restore my new device and my data.